Prez disqualifies 20 AAP MLAs, party says 'dangerous for


The Election Commission had on Friday recommended disqualification of 20 AAP MLAs for holding office of profit as Parliamentary Secretaries.

Otherwise we would have been nothing.

The Election Commission gave its opinion on the matter, and said, "Whether or not the individual Parliamentary Secretaries had actually derived the benefits or participated in executive functions of the government is of no relevance".

AAP leaders have refuted the allegations and termed it a witch-hunt.

The Aam Aadmi Party had also approached the Delhi High Court seeking a stay on the Commission's recommendation and a hearing has been listed by the court for Monday.

"This must be the first ever recommendation in EC history where a recommendation has been sent without even hearing the main matter on merits".

Citing a poll panel order, Bharadwaj said in June past year, the then Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi and Election Commissioner A K Joti had said the commission will intimate the next date of hearing to all the parties concerned in the present proceedings in due course. If decision would have come before 22nd Dec, these 20 MLAs would've been disqualified & couldn't have voted for RS elections, Maken said.

Battlefield 1 expansion Apocalypse adding new Air Assault mode
Razor's Edge: Engage in frantic dogfights among snowy peaks, as British and German aces fight for control on this intense map. The Premium Pass gives you access to all four Battlefield 1 expansions, and now costs £39.99 for PC, Xbox and PS4.

Rajasthan: Rajasthan government has 10 parliamentary secretaries who enjoy status of ministers of state.

The move will pave the way for by polls in Delhi for 20 constituencies of the 70-member assembly.

Later, the AAP government tried to push a Bill through Delhi Assembly, giving protection to parliamentary secretaries under Office of Profit law.

The 20 legislators who have been disqualified are - Kailash Gehlot, Naresh Yadav, Som Dutt, Praveen Kumar, Nitin Tyagi, Adarsh Shastri, Sajeev Jha, Jarnail Singh, Sukhvir Singh, Madan Lal, Sarita Singh, Alka Lamba, Manoj Kumar, Avtar Singh, Vijendar Garg Vijay, Rajesh Gupta, Sharad Kumar and Shiv Charan Goel. But sources said the Commission's recommendation had been sent to President Ram Nath Kovind. "We are expecting relief from the court tomorrow", said Madanlal.

The AAP vowed to fight legally, right up to the Supreme Court.

Initially, the petition was directed at 21 MLAs, but one MLA, named Jarnail Singh, resigned to contest in the Punjab elections previous year.