Corey Kluber wins his second Cy Young Award


Kluber won 28 of 30 first-place votes, with Sale gathered two first-place votes and 28 votes for second place.

Washington Nationals right-hander Max Scherzer won his second consecutive National League Cy Young Award Wednesday, beating out three-time victor Clayton Kershaw of the Los Angeles Dodgers. Kluber led the league in ERA this year, with a 2.25 mark that led second-place Kershaw by.06 and third-place Scherzer by.26. He became the first Indians' pitcher to win the award twice, while Sale - who led the majors in strikeouts - saw his candidacy fail again.

Earlier in the month, Kluber was named the AL's outstanding pitcher in Players Choice Awards balloting by the Major League Baseball Players Association. Winning the Cy Young Award just once is an wonderful feat in the career of a Major League Baseball pitcher, but bringing home the second one in a row puts Scherzer in some pretty elite company. Still, the Nationals' second ace rode a dominant second half to the best overall season of his career, going 15-4 with a 2.52 ERA and 1.015 WHIP. In 2017, he earned the award with a 16-6 record and 2.51 ERA amid 200 2/3 innings and league highs in strikeouts (268), WHIP (0.90) and hits allowed per nine innings (5.7).

Fidget spinners pulled from Target after concerns over high lead counts
"Furthermore, common sense dictates that fidget spinners are meant for kids and therefore should be classified as toys ". Young children have been harmed by lead in products, such as costume jewelry they may be tempted to put in their mouths.

The Nationals lost the NLDS to the Chicago Cubs in five games. Kershaw finished in second place with three first-place votes, 25 second place votes, and one third-place vote. The Boston ace's ERA in August and September was 4.09, tied for 54th among 97 pitchers with at least 50 innings.

Kluber topped Sale in what turned out to be a two-man race.

Fellow Indians starter Carlos Carrasco was fourth. Other three-time winners are Pedro Martinez (two in the AL and one in the NL), Jim Palmer (all in the AL), Tom Seaver (all in the NL) and Sandy Koufax (all in the NL).