Jason Heyward first Cub with consecutive Gold Gloves since Greg Maddux


The last Reds catcher to win was 10-time victor Johnny Bench.

Arenado, Cubs right fielder Jason Heyward and Royals left fielder Alex Gordon were each honored for the fifth time, most among this year's winners. Jones combined good speed with preternatural jumps on fly balls - he sometimes took the first step of his route before the ball even left the bat - while Inciarte uses good jumps and blazing speed to cover extensive ground and make plays in the gaps, including numerous diving catches and leaping grabs with his glove near the top of fences.

The Royals are the only American League team to have at least one victor in each of the past seven seasons. This marks Gordon's fifth career award, also winning four-straight from 2011-14, while Hosmer earns his fourth accolade, also winning three in a row (2013-15). Hosmer's four Rawlings Gold Glove Awards are tied with Perez for third-most all-time among Kansas City players. Simmons hadn't won since 2014, and Longoria got his first since 2010.

Stroman is the tenth player in Jays history to be named a Gold Glove recipient.

Waymo's fully self-driving cars are here
Ditching the human test driver may sound alarming, but it brings Waymo closer to offering a truly autonomous vehicle. The new rides are a major test for Waymo's technology, which has proved to be largely error-free in eight years.

"Obviously, five, it's a pretty special number", he said. In addition to a year ago, he previously won in 2012 and 2014 with the Atlanta Braves and in 2015 with the St. Louis Cardinals.

Barnhart beat out two big stars in fellow finalists Buster Posey and Yadier Molina, becoming the first Cincinnati catcher to win since Hall of Famer Johnny Bench in 1977.

Managers and up to six coaches from each team participated in the voting, with the stipulation that they couldn't vote for players from their own team.