Kendrick sweeps this year's VMA nominations


The MTV Video Music Awards, which will air live from Inglewood, California on Aug 27, has a reputation for irreverence, shock tactics and unpredictable moments. The name most frequently flying off the lips of folks like Bretman Rock and Baby Ariel?

The MTV Video Music Awards have announced the next batch of potential Moonmen owners.

On Tuesday, it was announced that Tiller received two nominations at this year's MTV Video Music Awards. Each year the MTV VMAs encapsulates this spirit, bringing together music's greatest pioneers on one stage.

The R&B star was nominated for Best Collaboration and Video of the Year for his work on "Wild Thoughts" with DJ Khaled and Rihanna.

Lift siege before dialogue, Qatar tells Gulf countries
Ankara's one-sided stance, though welcomed by Qatar, has damaged its credibility as an impartial mediator and raised doubts from the Saudi-led camp.

In May, MTV adopted gender neutral categories for their Movie & TV Awards, combining Best Actor and Best Actress categories. The category awards videos that "inspire viewers to stand up and fight injustice", according to the press release. Both songs topped the Billboard Hot 100 chart this year.

The coveted "Artist of the Year" award will be a battle between Ariana Grande, Bruno Mars, Ed Sheeran, Kendrick Lamar, Lorde and The Weeknd. The song and its video are up for the best fight against the system award.

Another standout nominee in the realm of representation is The Hamilton Mixtape's video for the track "Immigrants (We Get The Job Done)", which features only artists of color, raps in multiple languages, and a lady rapper you need to know about. Lamar is also nominated twice for Best Direction - not only is "Humble" his video as an artist, but he was part of the directing team as a member of his group The Little Homies.

Previously titled "Best Video With a Social Message", the category was first introduced at the 2011 VMAs and kept its original name through 2015, before disappearing altogether from the 2016 nomination list.